Viñas del Vero

The cave

Just over ten years after its creation, Viñas del Vero was already the first winery in the Denomination of Origin of Somontano and was ready to launch one of its most cherished projects: the creation of a winery that would not only produce premium wines. Blecua is a charming and delicious winery that opened its doors in July 2000. It is very close to Viñas del Vero, along the Vero river that connects Barbastro to Alquézar.
Blecua, better known locally as "torre Blecua" ("Blecua tower"), dates back to the 11th century, when it served as a retreat for the French Benedictine monks of Santa Fe de Conques. It extends over fourteen hectares in the very center of Somontano and includes a beautiful Italian villa which was built towards the end of the 19th century and which Viñas del Vero restored in order to build the winery where they make their most popular wine. emblematic: Blecua.

Elaboration

Blecua is the result of a triple selection: vines, grapes, and barrels.

Viñas del Vero has selected its best vineyards as places to grow the grapes that will produce Blecua every year. These are seven or eight low-yielding vineyards, located in areas with different microclimates of Somontano, on hillsides very exposed to the sun, which allows them to pick the different varieties that make up the blend at their point of maturity. optimum.

The grapes are harvested by hand and placed in small 10 kg crates. Upon arrival at the winery, the bunches are transferred to a sorting table to be selected, so that only the best quality grapes make it to the fermentation tanks. The grapes from the different vineyards are fermented separately in 18,000 liter French Allier oak vats. Fermentation and subsequent maceration continue for four weeks depending on the grape variety. The malolactic fermentation begins in the fermentation tanks and then, once it has started, the wines are transferred to barrels.

The wines are each placed in new French Allier oak barrels from four different cooperages. After twelve months in barrels, the best of each of the wines is selected, after which the final blend is made and put back in barrels for an additional eight months of ageing. Blecua therefore spends a total of 20 months in barrel before being bottled directly from the barrels without undergoing any stabilization or filtering process.

One of the characteristics of Blecua is that it is different every year, because only the best casks of each variety are retained through each of the selection processes.

Terroir

Somontano is a region of Upper Aragon that is exceptional on two fronts: the richness of its natural environment and the beauty of its historical heritage: Alquézar, Torreciudad and the cave paintings of the Sierra de Guara are good examples.

Located near the Pyrenees and crossed by the Vero river, the Somontano offers exceptional conditions for growing vines. Rolling hills, dun-colored limestone, highly permeable soils, extreme winters and short summers create unprecedented agroclimatic conditions for the production of excellent wines. The Romans discovered it nearly twenty centuries ago and wine lovers still enjoy the results today.

Several influences come into play in the landscape of Somontano: the foothills of the Pyrenees, where the Sierra y Cañones de Guara nature reserve is located, the Sierra de Salinas, the Vero and Cinca rivers, which meander through the region and a horizon of vineyards , olive groves, holm oaks and almond trees.

In 1985, Viñas del Vero and several other local wineries instituted the Denomination of Origin Somontano which, in addition to being a benchmark of quality, is synonymous with respect for tradition and geographical origin, given that all grapes used to make DO Somontano wines come from vineyards in the area. Somontano is an innovative and dynamic Denomination of Origin which, in just a few years, has acquired an excellent reputation in the world of wine, both in Spain and internationally.

Vintages

The first commercialized Blecua wine was made from the 1997 harvest, which was released in September 2000. They only bottled 15 barrels from the 1997 harvest and the wine was made from equal amounts of Merlot, Cabernet Sauvignon, Garnacha and Tempranillo.

Blecua 1998 was exceptional because it was a historic year for Somontano, considered by all to be the best year since the creation of the designation of origin: 68 barrels of Blecua were made, from two main varieties, Cabernet Sauvignon and Garnacha.

The 1999 Blecua was not released for sale, however. The wine did not meet the quality parameters they considered necessary for a wine of this level and with these characteristics, so the 1999 vintage was skipped.

Since the creation, only the 1997, 1998, 2000, 2001, 2002, 2003, 2004, 2005, 2007, 2008, 2010, 2011 and 2013 vintages have been marketed and the most exceptional remain the 1998 and 2011 vintages.

Viñas del Vero

La Cave

Un peu plus de dix ans après sa création, Viñas del Vero était déjà la première cave de l'appellation d'origine du Somontano et était prête à lancer l'un de ses projets les plus chers : la création d'une cave qui ne produirait que des vins haut de gamme. Blecua est une charmante et délicieuse cave qui a ouvert ses portes en juillet 2000. Elle est très proche de Viñas del Vero, le long de la rivière Vero qui relie Barbastro à Alquézar.
Blecua, plus connue localement sous le nom de "torre Blecua" ("tour Blecua"), remonte au 11ème siècle, lorsqu'elle servait de retraite aux moines bénédictins français de Santa Fe de Conques. Elle s'étend sur quatorze hectares en plein centre du Somontano et comprend une belle villa à l'italienne qui a été construite vers la fin du XIXe siècle et que Viñas del Vero a restaurée afin de construire la cave où ils élaborent leur vin le plus emblématique : Blecua.

Elaboration

Blecua est le résultat d'une triple sélection : de la vigne, des grappes, et des barriques.

Viñas del Vero a sélectionné ses meilleurs vignobles comme lieux de culture des raisins qui produiront chaque année le Blecua. Il s'agit de sept ou huit vignobles à faible rendement, situés dans des zones ayant différents microclimats du Somontano, sur des coteaux très exposés au soleil, ce qui leurs permet de cueillir les différentes variétés qui composent l'assemblage à leur point de maturité optimal.

Les raisins sont récoltés à la main et placés dans de petites caisses de 10 kg. À l'arrivée à la cave, les grappes sont transférées sur une table de tri pour être sélectionnées, afin que seuls les raisins de la meilleure qualité arrivent jusqu'aux cuves de fermentation. Les raisins des différents vignobles sont fermentés séparément dans des cuves en chêne français de l'Allier de 18 000 litres. La fermentation et la macération subséquente se poursuivent pendant quatre semaines selon le cépage. La fermentation malolactique commence dans les cuves de fermentation puis, une fois qu'elle a commencé, les vins sont transférés dans des barriques.

Les vins sont chacun placés dans des fûts neufs en chêne français de l'Allier provenant de quatre tonnelleries différentes. Après douze mois en barrique, le meilleur de chacun des vins est sélectionné, après quoi le mélange définitif est réalisé et remis en barrique pour un vieillissement de huit mois supplémentaires. Blecua passe donc un total de 20 mois en barrique avant d'être mis en bouteille directement à partir des barriques sans subir aucun processus de stabilisation ou de filtrage.

L'une des caractéristiques de Blecua est qu'elle est différente chaque année, car seuls les meilleurs fûts de chaque variété sont retenus à travers chacun des processus de sélection.

Le Terroir

Le Somontano est une région du Haut-Aragon qui est exceptionnelle sur deux fronts : la richesse de son environnement naturel et la beauté de son patrimoine historique : Alquézar, Torreciudad et les peintures rupestres de la Sierra de Guara en sont de bons exemples.

Situé à proximité des Pyrénées et traversé par le fleuve Vero, le Somontano offre des conditions exceptionnelles pour la culture de la vigne. Les collines ondulantes, le calcaire couleur dun, les sols très perméables, les hivers extrêmes et les étés courts créent des conditions agroclimatiques sans précédent pour la production d'excellents vins. Les Romains l'ont découvert il y a près de vingt siècles et les amateurs de bon vin en apprécient encore les résultats aujourd'hui.

Plusieurs influences entrent en jeu dans le paysage du Somontano : les contreforts des Pyrénées, où se trouve la réserve naturelle de Sierra y Cañones de Guara, la Sierra de Salinas, les rivières Vero et Cinca, qui serpentent dans la région et un horizon de vignes, d'oliveraies, de chênes verts et d'amandiers.

En 1985, Viñas del Vero et plusieurs autres caves locales ont institué l'appellation d'origine Somontano qui, en plus d'être une référence de qualité, est synonyme de respect de la tradition et de la provenance géographique, étant donné que tous les raisins utilisés pour l'élaboration des vins A.O. Somontano proviennent de vignobles de la région. Le Somontano est une appellation d'origine innovante et dynamique qui, en quelques années, a acquis une excellente réputation dans le monde du vin, tant en Espagne qu'au niveau international.

 

Les Millésimes

Le premier vin Blecua commercialisé a été élaboré à partir de la récolte 1997, qui est sortie en septembre 2000. Ils n'ont mis en bouteille que 15 barriques de la récolte 1997 et le vin était composé de quantités égales de Merlot, Cabernet Sauvignon, Garnacha et Tempranillo.

Le Blecua 1998 a été exceptionnel car il s'agit d'une année historique pour le Somontano, considéré par tous comme la meilleure année depuis la création de l'appellation d'origine : 68 barriques de Blecua ont été fabriquées, à partir de deux variétés principales, le Cabernet Sauvignon et le Garnacha.

Le Blecua 1999 n'a cependant pas été mis en vente. Le vin ne répondait pas aux paramètres de qualité qu'ils estimaient nécessaires pour un vin de ce niveau et avec ces caractéristiques, le millésime 1999 a donc été ignoré.

Depuis la création, seuls les millésimes 1997, 1998, 2000, 2001, 2002, 2003, 2004, 2005, 2007, 2008, 2010, 2011 et 2013 ont été commercialisés et les plus exceptionnels restent les millésimes 1998 et 2011.