Abadia Retuerta

The cave

Abadía Retuerta is a Spanish winery founded in 1996. The estate is located just outside the boundary of the Ribera del Duero region, in the province of Castilla y León, in north central Spain, near the village of Sardon del Duero. Located 32km east of the city of Valladolid, it sits in wine estates that stretch from Tudela de Duero to Peñafiel, known as the "golden mile". In particular, it is only a few kilometers from the famous producer Vega Sicilia.

The domain

The Abadía Retuerta estate extends over 710 ha, of which 210 ha are planted with vines. The altitude is 640 m near the Duero River and rises to about 780 m. The composition of the soil is heterogeneous, with sand, clay and some gravel near the river and limestone interspersed with aggregate boulders and stones on the top of the hill. The climate is extremely continental and semi-desert, with hot summers, cold winters and average annual rainfall of 300 mm to 450 mm. Being outside the DO Ribera del Duero allows them to use drip irrigation when they need it. The 54 plots extend over 206 hectares (HA) of which 146 are planted with Tempranillo, 40 with Cabernet Sauvignon, 16 with Merlot, 2 with Syrah and 2 with Petit Verdot.

The installations

The winemaking facilities were designed by consultant oenologist Pascal Delbeck, owner of Château Ausone, who still works with the estate and Angel Anocíbar. The winery is designed around a gravity flow system and has a laboratory and a 5,000 barrel capacity aging cellar carved into the side of the adjacent mountain. Wines can be aged in the 80 stainless steel vats, or in any combination of the 3,700 225-litre Bordeaux-style barrels, made from 80% French oak and 20% American oak. Some French oak comes from Limousin forests, others from Allier trees. Humidity and temperature are maintained at optimum levels for wine development.

Abadia Retuerta

La Cave

Abadía Retuerta est une cave espagnole fondée en 1996. Le domaine est situé juste à l'extérieur de la limite de la région de Ribera del Duero, dans la province de Castilla y León, au centre nord de l'Espagne, près du village de Sardón del Duero. Située à 32km à l'est de la ville de Valladolid, elle se trouve dans des domaines viticoles qui s'étendent de Tudela de Duero à Peñafiel, connu sous le nom de "mile d'or". Notamment, il n'est qu'à quelques kilomètres du fameux producteur Vega Sicilia.

Le Domaine

Le domaine d'Abadía Retuerta s'étend sur 710 ha, dont 210 ha sont plantés en vignes. L'altitude est de 640 m près du fleuve Duero et s'élève à environ 780 m. La composition du sol est hétérogène, avec du sable, de l'argile et un peu de gravier près de la rivière et du calcaire parsemé de blocs d'agrégats et de pierres sur le haut de la colline. Le climat est extrêmement continental et semi-désertique, avec des étés chauds, des hivers froids et des précipitations annuelles moyennes de 300 mm à 450 mm. Le fait d'être à l'extérieur de la DO Ribera del Duero leur permet d'utiliser l'irrigation goutte à goutte quand ils en ont besoin. Les 54 parcelles s'étendent sur 206 hectares (HA) dont 146 sont plantés en Tempranillo, 40 en Cabernet Sauvignon, 16 en Merlot, 2 en Syrah et 2 en Petit Verdot.

Les Installations

Les installations de vinification ont été conçues par l'œnologue consultant Pascal Delbeck, propriétaire du Château Ausone, qui travaille toujours avec le domaine et Angel Anocíbar. La cave est conçue autour d'un système d'écoulement par gravité et dispose d'un laboratoire et d'une cave de vieillissement d'une capacité de 5.000 barriques creusée dans le flanc de la montagne adjacente. Les vins peuvent être élevés dans les 80 cuves en acier inoxydable, ou dans n'importe quelle combinaison des 3 700 barriques de 225 litres de type bordelais, composées à 80% de chêne français et 20% de chêne américain. Du chêne français, certains proviennent de forêts limousines, d'autres d'arbres de l'Allier. L'humidité et la température sont maintenues à des niveaux optimaux pour le développement des vins.